Minnesota has increased the minimum wage and lowered the threshold distinction between "large employer" and "small employer."
Effective August 1, 2014, a "large employer" means an enterprise whose annual gross volume of sales made or business done is not less than $500,000 (it used to be $625,000). The minimum wage paid by large employers is increased from $5.15 an hour to $8.00 an hour starting August 1, 2014, increasing to $9.00 in 2015 and $9.50 in 2016.
The minimum wage paid by small employers, and by any employer of a person under age 20, is increased to $6.50 an hour effective August 1, 2014, increasing to $7.25 in 2015 and $7.75 in 2016.
Starting in 2017, the minimum wage will be tied to the rate of inflation, subject to the commissioner's ability to sever the tie depending on economic conditions.
The full text of the bill presented to the Governor may be viewed here.
Saturday, April 12, 2014
New Laws in Minnesota: Minimum Wage Increase
- April 30 DEADLINE to appeal 2013 Property Tax Clas...
- How to Write a Horse Sales Contract: a Prezi from...
- This Year's Minnesota Horse Expo Presentation: Ho...
- New Laws in Minnesota: Minimum Wage Increase
- New Laws in Minnesota: School Anti-Bullying Polic...
- New Laws in Minnesota: Revised Uniform Limited Li...
- New Laws in Minnesota: Estate tax threshold incre...
- ▼ April (7)